Modern Steel Construction (

AISC is now accepting nominations for its award programs that honor remarkable people.

Each year, AISC presents Lifetime and Special Achievement Awards to exceptional industry professionalsdesigners, and educators. The 2024 winners will receive special recognition at NASCC: The Steel Conference in San Antonio, Texas, March 20 to 22, 2024.

“The leaders driving today’s innovation are what makes the design community and domestic fabricated structural steel industry so special,” said AISC President Charles J. Carter, SE, PE, PhD. “They deserve the spotlight, and AISC is honored to provide one!”

In addition to the Lifetime and Special Achievement Awards for educators, AISC presents the Terry Peshia Early Career Faculty Awards to tenure-track faculty who demonstrate exceptional promise in the areas of structural steel research, teaching, and other contributions to the structural steel industry.

To learn more or submit a nomination, please visit

Nominations are due October 1, 2023.


Lifetime Achievement Awards honor individuals whose long-term, dedicated service to AISC and the industry as a whole have made a difference to drive innovation forward.

Special Achievement Awards recognize singular achievements in design, construction, education, and research.

In truly remarkable cases, AISC will also present its most prestigious awards.

The J. Lloyd Kimbrough Award honors living engineers and architects who are universally recognized as the pre-eminent steel designers of their era. Past winners of the Kimbrough Award include Ludwig Mies van der Rohe (1961), Othmar A. Ammann (1964), Fazlur R. Khan (1973), and Leslie E. Robertson (2001). The award was most recently presented in 2022, to David I. Ruby of Ruby + Associates.

The Robert P. Stupp Award for Leadership Excellence is a special honor for those who have demonstrated unparalleled leadership in the steel construction industry. AISC has presented it to only 10 individuals since 1998, including David Zalesne of Owen Steel Company (2023), Duane K. Miller of The Lincoln Electric Company (2016), Daniel R. DiMicco of Nucor Corporation (2012), and Robert D. Freeland of Havens Steel Company (2002).

The Geerhard Haaijer Award for Excellence in Education recognizes those who, through research and teaching, have had a profound and lasting impact on advancing the use of structural steel framing in the construction industry. Only nine individuals have won the Haaijer Award since 1999; they include Theodore V. Galambos of the University of Minnesota (1999), Lynn S. Beedle (2003) and John W. Fisher (2006) of Lehigh University, and Bruce R. Ellingwood of Colorado State University (2018). The award was most recently presented in 2023 to Michael Engelhardt, PE, PhD, of the University of Texas at Austin.